About AQIP

AQIP (Academic Quality Improvement Program)

In Spring 2010 an application was made to The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) for North Iowa Area Community College (NIACC) to participate in the Academic Quality Improvement Program, thus replacing the traditional accreditation process.

AQIP is based on continuous quality improvement principles. Each institution must have at least three action projects underway at all times and at least one of the projects must be related to student learning.

As institutions work on their action projects, a systems portfolio must be developed and maintained online. Every year an annual report of progress is prepared for each action project and submitted to the HLC. Every four years the AQIP team attends a strategy forum and the institution’s systems portfolio is reviewed. Accreditation is reaffirmed every seven years if the institution provides adequate evidence that it has followed AQIP guidelines and has met expectations.

The Nine AQIP Categories

  1. Helping Students Learn
  2. Accomplishing Other Distinctive Objectives
  3. Understanding Student’s & Other Stakeholders’ Needs
  4. Valuing People
  5. Leading and Communicating
  6. Supporting Institutional Operations
  7. Measuring Effectiveness
  8. Planning Continuous Improvement
  9. Building Collaborative Relationships