Choral Society presents 20th Annual Spring Concert

The North Iowa Choral Society is proud to present its 20th Annual Spring Concert – “Made in America” – on Saturday, April 26, at 7:00 p.m. in the North Iowa Community Auditorium under the direction of Linda Ferjak.  This season the ensemble is excited to feature music from American Composers such as Aaron Copland, George & Ira Gershwin, Leonard Bernstein, Stephen Sondheim, Rogers & Hammerstein, Alice Jordan, Randall Thompson, and Stephen Paulus to name just a few.

E. Howard Sonksen, Charter Member and Member of the Board of Directors reflected, “We are a small, select group bringing life to a wide range of American music, from Folk Songs to Broadway Musicals and many genres in-between.”  According to Sonksen, “This promises to be an evening to sit back and enjoy music you heard growing up in America performed by the Choral Society as well as soloists and ensembles.”

We’re also pleased once more to include the Children of the North Iowa Choral Society under the direction of Rebecca Marty.   Their musical selections include Yonder Come Day, based on a traditional Georgia Sea Islands song (arr. Tucker) and So Long, Farewell (Rodgers/Hammerstein II) from The Sound of Music.

Musical selections from the adult ensemble include America the Beautiful (Jordan), Bile Them Cabbage Down (Wilberg), Ching-a-Ring Chaw (Copland), Daniel, Daniel, Servant of the Lord (Moore), God Bless America (Berlin), I Am in Need of Music (Brunner), Paint Your Wagon (Lowew & Lerner), The Promise of Living (Copland), The Road Home (Paulus), The Road Not Taken from Frostiana (Thompson), Soldier, Soldier Won’t You Marry Me (DeCormier), Summertime from Porgy and Bess (Gershwin/Dubose/Heyward), selections from West Side Story (Bernstein/Sondheim), and Amazing Grace (Jasperse).

Guest instrumentalists from the North Iowa Symphony will join the ensemble during the musical selection Bile Them Cabbage Down and Sydney Kleven will join Choral Society’s accompanist, Teresa Lursen, on the piano duet accompaniment for The Promise of Living.

Choral Society Members: Soprano I-Kayla Halfpap*, Becky Hosmer, Rebecca Marty, Christine Schmitt; Soprano II-Marta Eenhuis, Lori Quinlan*; Alto I-Annette Greenwood, Mary Groh, Corinne Sills; Alto II-Lea Calvert, Sharon Schneider, Jill Schott, Leslie Sloan*; Tenor I-Lowell Gangstad; Tenor II-Dan Calvert, E. Howard Sonksen*; Bass I- Brian Breamer*, Carleton Shaw, Roger Tietjens; Bass II- Chuck Grove*, Dave Richardson (*charter member).

Children’s Choir Members: Lukas Fry, Jacob Hasler, Olivia Juenger, Jailyn Krein, Emma Kudej, Camden Lau, Kenadie Lau, Braden Renner, Caleb Renner, Kaden Schuknecht, McKenna Schuknecht, and Max Whipple.

Concert announcer is John Henry.

Tickets to the concert are $5 and may be obtained at the door the evening of the show or from any adult Choral Society member.

# # #

Ref # 3900

Comments are closed.