# MINUTES NORTH IOWA AREA COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF DIRECTORS Special Board Meeting | March 7, 2024

HELD: 5:00 p.m. NIACC Campus – Pierce Administration Building– Room 100 – 500 College Drive – Mason City, Iowa

#### 1.0 Preliminary/Information Items

A. Call to Order and Declaration of Quorum – President Rottinghaus called the meeting to order at 5:06 p.m. A quorum was declared with the following persons in attendance.

MEMBERS PRESENT: 1 - David Steffens, Jr., Lake Mills

2- Cathy Rottinghaus, Charles City 4- John Rowe, Mason City (Zoom)

5 - Doug Krabbe, Osage6 - Andy Julseth, Northwood

7 – Stephanie Nettleton, Mason City (Zoom)

8 – Debra Hill, Garner

MEMBERS ABSENT: 3- David Moore, Clear Lake

9 – Nicki Prantner, Hampton

RECORDING SECRETARY: Abby Donald

VISITORS: Dr. Larry Ebbers, Presidential Search Consultant

<u>B. Additions to the Agenda and Adoption of the Agenda</u> – A motion was made by Director Steffens and seconded by Director Julseth to adopt the agenda. Ayes – all. Motion carried.

### 2.0 Board Items

#### 3.0 Action Items

A. Approval of Presidential Candidates Recommended by the Search Committee Closed Session per Iowa Code Section J21.5(1)(i) (2024) – The regular meeting of the NIACC Board of Directors was recessed at 5:07 p.m. A motion was made by Director Krabbe and seconded by Director Steffens and unanimous to recess the regular NIACC Board meeting and go into closed session personnel discussion

The roll was called, and the vote was:

**Director Steffens** 

**Director Rottinghaus** 

**Director Rowe** 

Director Krabbe

Director Julseth

Director Nettleton

Director Hill

Yes -7; No -0; Absent -2; Motion carried.

There was a consensus to reconvene the regular meeting at 5:40 p.m.

## A motion was made to accept

**5.0** Additions to the Agenda – There were no additions to the agenda.

7.0 Adjournment—Director Steffens made a motion, and Director Hill seconded it to adjourn the meeting. Ayes-all. The motion was carried. The meeting adjourned at 5:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cathy Rottinghaus, President NIACC Board of Directors

Mindy Eastman, Board Secretary **NIACC Board of Directors**