NIACC Alumni, Faculty, and Staff Recognized with Awards

This year’s Community Colleges for Iowa Awards convention shone a spotlight on three outstanding individuals from North Iowa Area Community College (NIACC), who were celebrated for their exceptional contributions. The honorees, receiving the Outstanding Alumni Award, Outstanding Faculty Award, and Outstanding Staff Award, exemplify excellence and dedication.

Anthony (Tony) Coloff 62’ was presented with the Outstanding Alumni Award, given to a graduate of any of Iowa’s Community Colleges who has shown leadership and commitment to their community. Molly Knoll, Director of Institutional Advancement at NIACC, had the following to say about Coloff, “We are proud to recognize Tony for his leadership with this state-wide award. He embodies the College’s core values of success, engagement, and leadership. Tony is a dedicated ambassador for NIACC throughout our region. He, along with his wife Sue, have been generous supporters of the Alumni Association’s annual Pathways to Success, provided annual scholarships, and supported the Keeping NIACC First campaign to help build the STEM center.” Tony is a 1962 graduate of NIACC’s predecessor Mason City Junior College. He has served on the NIACC Alumni Advisory Board since 2004, demonstrating 20 years of dedicated service supporting and promoting the College. 

Dr. Heather DeWaard-Flickinger was awarded the Outstanding Faculty Award. DeWaard-Flickinger, a NIACC Health, Wellness, and Leisure instructor, is active on college-wide committees, champions new initiatives, and embraces challenges through collaboration and the pursuit of excellence. As CETL Director and advocate for mental health and college wellness, she regularly plans professional development to support new initiatives. In addition, DeWaard-Flickinger leads the campus physical fitness and wellness program, engages with regional colleagues to develop conference opportunities, and takes time to make the rounds on campus to check in on the well-being of colleagues. NIACC President Dr. Steve Schulz said, “Heather is an exceptional instructor, a consummate professional, and a strong leader among the faculty. She is an outstanding representative of NIACC’s faculty.”

Dr. Shelly Schmit, Vice President of Institutional Effectiveness and Organization Development at NIACC, was given the Outstanding Staff Award. Schulz praised Schmit, “Shelly has dedicated the last 25 years of her professional career to making NIACC a better place for the staff and students. Her tireless work ethic and empathy for others make her an outstanding awardee in this category.” Schmit is responsible for human resources, professional development, institutional research, accreditation, and a variety of other duties.

Congratulations to these three well deserved winners.

NIACC Alumni, Faculty, and Staff Recognized with Awards
To Top